About Us

Our mission is to build healthy, thriving communities by mobilizing them to develop and implement policy, systems, and environmental (PSE) changes.

 

Louisiana has a problem with chronic disease – caused mainly by smoking and obesity. And where we live, work, and play has the greatest influence on our health over the course of our lifetime. By improving the spaces directly around us, we have the potential to improve the health of our communities AND help them thrive!

We provide a network that helps unite, train, support, and leverage communities’ work through:

 

STATEWIDE LEADERSHIP + CONNECTION

We connect organizations with local communities to leverage resources and align activities to make a big impact. LHCC's Co-Chairs, Statewide Team, and Regional Leadership facilitates these connections and supports communities by providing sustainable approaches that are evidence-based and proven to work. Scroll down on this page to learn more about LHCC's Co-Chairs and Statewide Team.

COMMUNICATIONS SUPPORT

Our Communications Team provides communities with reliable health information, training, materials, and resources. Don’t forget to check out our Facebook and Youtube accounts to see what we’re working on.

COMMUNITY GRANTS

We fund grants in communitites across the state to help them develop and implement policy, systems, and environmental changes. Read about the projects we’ve funded on our blog.

HOSTING THE ANNUAL SUMMIT

We convene inspiring leaders, local elected officials who prioritize health, subject matter experts, and community coalition members together in a different region of Louisiana every year. The event typically includes opportunities to learn new skills, network, and have fun. See our Annual Summit page to learn more.

healthy food

OUR TEAM

Jaime Bruins - LHCC Statewide Co-Chair
Northshore/Region 9 Manager
The Louisiana Campaign for Tobacco-Free Living
jbruins@lphi.org

Michelle Kendal - LHCC Statewide Co-Chair
Policy Coordinator
Louisiana Cancer Prevention (LCP)
mkenda@lsuhsc.edu

Rodney Anthony
Statewide Program Manager
Taking Aim at Cancer in Louisiana (TACL)
rodney.anthony@la.gov

Jamila Freightman
CDC Healthy Communities Program Manager
LSU AgCenter
jfreightman@agcenter.lsu.edu

Mack Giancola
Comprehensive Cancer Control Program Manager
Louisiana Cancer Prevention (LCP)
mgianc@lsuhsc.edu

Ashley Gothard
Implementation Manager
Louisiana Department of Health (LDH)
ashley.gothard@la.gov

Joynetta Kelly
Associate Deputy Director
LDH - Office of Community Partnerships and Health Equity
joynetta.kelly@la.gov

Jessica Kemp
Vice President
Center for Planning Excellence (CPEX)
jkemp@cpex.org

Gina Lagarde
Region 9 Office of Public Health Director
LDH OPH
gina.lagarde@la.gov

Rosamar Martinez
Intervention Coordinator
Louisiana Cancer Prevention (LCP)
rmar13@lsuhsc.edu

Renee Mixon
Community Outreach Manager
LDH Well-Ahead
renee.mixon@la.gov

Laura Ricks
Communications Manager
Louisiana Cancer Prevention (LCP)
lricks@lsuhsc.edu

Shawna Shields
Associate Director, Tobacco Prevention
Louisiana Public Health Institute (LPHI)/Louisiana Campaign for Tobacco-Free Living
sshields@lphi.org

Feamula Bradley
Northwest LHCC/Region 7 Co-Chair
The Louisiana Campaign for Tobacco-Free Living Region 7 Manager
fbradley@lphi.org

Taffy Morrison
Florida Parishes LHCC/Region 9 Co-Chair
Well Ahead Regional Coordinator
taffymorrison15@gmail.com

Valerie Vincent
Family Consumer Science Regional Coordinator
LSU AgCenter Southeast Region
vvincent@agcenter.lsu.edu

The Louisiana Cancer Prevention & Control Programs (LCP) and The Louisiana Caimpaign For TobaccoFree Living (TFL) provides state leadership and resources to the Louisiana Healthy Communities Coalition (LHCC).

louisiana cancer prevention logo
tobacco free living logo

© Louisiana Healthy Communities Coalition. Created by ForceTen Marketing